Reedsmouth Junction

Ali McLean

Hi

I'm coming back to modelling after 48 years when as a 12-year old, I had a fairly basic Hornby 00 double-loop.

Ambitiously perhaps, I'm hoping to model Reedsmouth Junction on the sadly disused Border Counties and "Wannies" lines here in Northumberland.

There is a fantastic article by Ian Futers in the July 2015 edition of Railway Modeller which I'll be using to the fullest extent including Ian's excellent 2mm building plans.

However, it is what wasn't in the article that I would love to find. Hence, I am wondering if there is any way of contacting Ian to find out if he also drew up plans for the water tower/ticket office and the viaduct to the north of the junction which crossed the River Rede before sadly being dismantled.

I'm sure I can have "a go" at them myself but Ian is clearly a man who knows what he is doing and as a newbie, I'm always ready to learn from the best.

While I can find many images of the water tower, there is only one (attached) that I can find of the the viaduct which would appear to pose the greatest challenge.

Kind regards

Ali McLean

reedsmouth(alan_young12.1974)10.jpg

Viaduct.jpg

• Like 6

There are a few more photos of the viaduct in Ernie Brack's Flickr album - here.

Incidently, if you are going to use the 25" to 1 mile OS map for your track plan, either directly or importing into Templot, there are errors in alignments of the lines in the engine shed yard and sidings opposite the Wansbeck platform. How do I know this? It's a Morecombe and Wise classic - it's the right number of lines, just not quite in the right place!

• Like 2