shielding free space profile

Hi,

I got a question, and not a lot of railway personal outsiders know about this.

I've been an international train driver al my career.

Belgium, Germany and the Netherland, and all these countries have this.

With a little difference of form, but all do have this sign.

It's a concert bar placed in the ground, painted white, that sits a few meters before a point, mostly to be found in a stations railway bundle, where wagons and coaches are placed.

vrijbaken.jpeg.605852724be645bb0096f00894abf425.jpeg

Free translated it's called a "fog beken for shielding free space profile".

This means no rolling stock may be placed beyond that beken towards the point.

It stands lose from, if there is a signal controlling opening or closing the track towards the point.

Most of the time it will be found between signal an point, but that's not a guarantee, there are exceptions.

The meaning of this simpel signal is there, because the tracks narrow down  towards the point, the space between the tracks becomes to narrow,.

If a wagon finds it self in the area beyond this signal, the passing vehicles going to the track, next to the track of the same connected  point, would collide with each other.

So my question is, is this also used in the uk, and/or does it perhaps exist in an other way or form?

If  possible, having a photo of a UK version of this signals would be great?

Please answer if you 100% sure if it exist or not.

Regards,

Danny

Edited by Danny Vanstraelen
  • Like 2
  • Informative/Useful 1

• RMweb Gold

In the UK it would be called a "fouling point marker". This may help with your searches...

They have existed at various times and places but are not common, where they do exist in yards they are often just a painted sleeper. We don't have them as routine like the concrete bar shown in your photo..

Andi  

• Informative/Useful 1

Thanks very much for providing the correct English word for this sign "fouling point marker"