Test track in living room of flat

Liam

I’m now living in North Devon, and although my local model railway club has a test track I’ve decided to set up a very basic layout in the living room of my flat, mainly so that I am able to run my locos in my flat. 

These baseboards were originally constructed around 9-10 years ago by a family friend of ours, and I was told that they were designed to a standard train set size of 6x4 but when I measured them a while ago it was more like 5x4. Nonetheless, there’s ample space for a loop and a siding as can be seen. *since taking this photo, I’ve swapped the straights around so that the points are now on the other side by the sofa cushion and the power connector is on the right hand side, joined to two small straight sections.

All the track is Hornby, and I have a Gaugemaster controller, which I’m told can be fairly easily connected to the Hornby power connector. 

The test track currently sits on the folded base of the mattress that folds out (the sofa is a sofa bed) - it’s the only space available that’s realistically large enough for it to go. Is there anything I should keep in mind given this (ie a baseboard on a sofa bed)?

IMG_8972.jpeg.3ab3be929cdf63001854737f3cd872f6.jpeg

• RMweb Gold

Is this your first attempt, Liam?

Couple of questions, but first an assumption, that this is going to be a basic layout while you live in the flat but is to double as a test track for a later 'proper' layout.  First thing is that, if I'm not mistaken, the picture shows Radius One setrack curves and the turnout (point).  This will be ok for Smokey Joe-type locos, 0-4-0s, possibly J94s and 08s, and short wheelbase wagons but most other RTR items will not run on it, being rated for R2, the next radius up.  If you are going to be testing stock for a future layout I'd suggest relaying it in R2, which will allow most RTR except long fixed wheebase and modern long bogie stock.  There is room on the boards for R2.