Hornby Pullman Coaches

Chrisjh

Thinking of purchasing if I can a complete rake of White roofed pullman coaches just wondering if anyone knows what the list comprises of in terms of coaches please. Also did Hornby ever do a tri axle white roof Pullman coach like they did in Grey?

Many thanks and Best Wishes,

Chris

I'm no expert but I think the white roofed ones were the Orient Express ones. The certainly were many years ago (the older models from the 80s) and came as a threesome in a train set with 47568. Cygnus, Perseus and Phoenix were the coach names.

Though I imagine your interest will be in the later retooled coaches with table lighting but alas I can't help you there. A quick skeg on eBay shows a few different ones though so that would be a start for you. 

• Like 1

• RMweb Gold

This is a very useful guide to much of what Hornby have produced. It hasn't been updated for a while, but does list all the Pullman coaches that have been released. Unfortunately it doesn't say whether the roofs are white or grey. In steam days these white roofs quickly became grey!

Edited by RFS

• RMweb Gold
33 minutes ago, Going Spare said:

According to Pat Hammond's British Model Trains catalogue (last produced in 2013), parlour cars Cygnus and Ibis plus kitchen car Minerva from the R1073 VSOE set had white roofs as well as R4482 brake car No. 65.  I can not find any reference to white-roofed 12-wheelers.

Hornby also produced Devon Belle and Bournemouth Belle train packs with white-roofed Pullman cars, and also extension packs for these also with white roofs. They also produced BB train packs with grey roofs so it's a bit of a minefield. There are plenty of these train packs for sale on Ebay, so you should be able to see what's available. 

Many thanks gents thats really very useful thank you very much indeed. Its very confusing with all the different versions of Pullmans that were produced so thank you for compling this. Happy New Year Best Wishes, Chris