Middle sized city station plan - 13ft by 8ft

Hi all,

Got stuck down a rabbit hole of layout planning and I came up with a Manchester Oxford Road style track plan for 13ft by 8ft in 00 Gauge (so it could fit one of those big garden office things). What do you all think? I have tried to add a bit of operational interest with the turnbacks on the curves so you can accurately have reversing trains in the platforms. I did want to make the scenic element more curvy instead of so boxy, so any ideas? Equally if I could get a 14ft one going it would mean I could squeeze in 5 car trains like the 180s and maybe through running of a TfW 67 and Mk4 set.

Screenshot 2024-01-09 192411.png

Edited by Danfilm007
  • Like 4

Can you lay things out so that the tracks aren't parallel to the baseboard edge in the scenic section?

Also I'm not an expert on track design but which are the up and down platforms? Can a train reach them and leave from them with a minimum of point shifts, and can they do so without a single mistake putting them on the wrong line?

• Interesting/Thought-provoking 1

Captures the prototype well , and I like the operational interest youve created ie, a service from Piccadilly can 'overtake' a service that on any thorough platform.  Stick some light engine moves and  a freightliner in the mix and it should keep you busy.

• Agree 1

You ought to start the outer fiddle yard lines with curved turnouts to eliminate the reverse curves and maybe lengthen some of the storage roads. The scenic section is simple and good; I'm sure there must be a way to tilt the station or some of the approach trackwork so that it doesn't always run parallel to the walls.

• Thanks 1

• RMweb Premium