Heljan Class 07 Vs Hornby BR class 08 shunters

Hi all. I am very new to model railways and I am building my first layout after a lot of input from this forum. Thank you all.

I have been trying to buy a Class 08 shunter and have found that Bachman only has the purple/blue, black, or bright orange liveried ones available.

I wanted the BR green livery so in the absence of Bachman I have been looking at the Hornby Class 08, 0-6-0, D3069 - Era 5.  and the Heljan Class 07 both from Kernow Model Rail.  Does anyone have any experience or comments on either of these?

I am using DCC and would prefer sound-fitted.

I am particularly interested in how they run mechanically, and the build quality rather than their scale detailing, etc.

2937 Heljan Class 07 Diesel number D2998 BR Green wasp stripes (kernowmodelrailcentre.com)

R30301TXS Hornby BR, Class 08, 0-6-0, D3069 - Era 5 (kernowmodelrailcentre.com)

Many thanks  

The Hornby model is IMO  the better model  in terms of running qualities and indeed detail .

I did own Bachmann versions of the 08 but they used to pick up dirt from the rails like mad .

While both models can be converted to DCC sound , again , the Hornby model has more space .

I've got an 07 waiting in the wings for sound treatment .

It's a lovely model but would benefit from having stay alive .

There are videos on YouTube showing installation of sound and stay alive .

Personally recommend stay alive in the 08 too as I have models both with and without and the difference was notable .

HTH

• RMweb Premium

I agree, the Hornby 08 is an excellent and reliable slow runner.  I’ve two Heljan 07s, one of my favourite loco types, but both are terrible runners, indeed they just sit on a shelf and never get used.