New Bachmann Class 37 body on old Class 37 chassis

Hi,

I've recently purchased an EWS 'Ty Hafan' Class 37 body (cat no. 32-381). This is the later version with cab lights which I believe needs to sit on a 21 pin chassis. However I'm not too fussed about having the cab lights working so was wondering if it would be able to sit on an older Bachmann 8 pin chassis and if so would the head/tail lights would still work?

I've also got a ViTrains 37 that I could take the chassis from. Does anyone have any experience of doing this?

Any help would be appreciated. This is my first post on here so I'm a bit of newbie!

Thanks, James

I've recently purchased an EWS 'Ty Hafan' Class 37 body (cat no. 32-381). This is the later version with cab lights which I believe needs to sit on a 21 pin chassis. However I'm not too fussed about having the cab lights working so was wondering if it would be able to sit on an older Bachmann 8 pin chassis and if so would the head/tail lights would still work?

As far as I remember there shouldn't be an issue but why not just remove the cab light LEDs? Unless it doesn't already have a chassis! You'll have sort the wiring out for the lights if you swap the body over .

I've also got a ViTrains 37 that I could take the chassis from. Does anyone have any experience of doing this?

A couple of people have on here - Pixie for one. His thread on his layout has a picture somewhere within it!

Hi James,

Yes it’s just the body I’ve got so after a chassis for it. Do the earlier Bachmann 37s have a different lighting arrangement in the nose from the more recent ones then?

Had a quick look at Pixie’s one – cheers for that J