Park View Siding

MIB44

Well having finally got round to posting a 'hello' message on the new members forum I thought I should take the next step and post some info & pictures about the layouts I'm working on (yes, like so many other people on this site I keep getting distracted and start a new project before finishing the last one - must try harder...!)

Despite being in my mid-forties, and having so far spent 27 years as an IT professional, I am fairly new to all this 'Social Networking', 'Forums' & 'Blogs' lark. So I thought I would start off with describing my most recent but smallest project as a bit of an experiment in posting on forums - so here goes...

Introduction

I got back in to railway modelling a few years ago when I bought my son (who is 10 now) his first 'Thomas the Tank Engine' train set. This developed in to a small 1st radius scenic oval layout which we enjoyed, but it was a bit limited. Just over a year ago (Christmas 2009), having been bitten by the bug again, I purchased a Hornby Select DCC controller and some chips. These were fitted in to my old 1980's diesels but didn't perform very well. My Birthday in March 2010 brought a nice new Bachmann 08 in weathered blue and this showed just how good the newer models are!! Around the same time I started work on my own little 'book-shelf' layout that would be more prototypical & detailed. Towards the end of 2010 I started a major re-development of my son's oval in to a dual-track winter themed layout. Christmas 2010 and Birthday 2011 brought two new diesels to the fleet (Bachmann & ViTrains) and the need to fit chips and also programme an Accessory Decoder. As I wanted to experiment with some scenic treatments for my layout I decided to start a new project for a 'quick win' and Park View Siding is the result.

Basic Construction