Scatter

Folks,

I am completely new to the scenery aspec of railway modelling - previous efforts never made it so far! At the minute I am just putting scatter on a slope which is at about a 45 degree angle. The method I have been using is poster paint on to newspaper and sprinkling the scatter on to it. Seems to work OK but I get very bald patches on my slope through which the paint if very visible.

In some areas I decided to use PVA glue which when used in high quantaties seemed to do quite a good job. The problem I have with that is that it used lots of glue, and that there is no texture to it. I think that the thickness of the paint gives it a certain amount of texture that an unkept bit of land would have - contours.

So, advice on what to do? Is there a way that if the paint doesn't attach to the scatter that it can be sealed in to stop it from coming off whenever I run the hoover over it, or is it pure resillience with it?

Hairspray?!

Thanks in advance!