Lighting my layout

Grafarman

• RMweb Premium

Been meaning for some time to set up some sort of proper lighting for Llanybarachel.

The overall size is 6'10" x 2'4" so I guess a 6' fluorescent tube would be best, or does anyone have a better solution? I'd heard spotlights are good but can they cause too much heat?

Also, I need some way of mounting the lights and attaching the whole thing to the sides of the layout without impeding the access; the sides are the 2x1 timbers side on so I would imagine some sort of bracing would be in order. And would it have to go along the front edge or slightly behind? And how high off the layout should it be?

Lots of ponderables here - Any help/suggestions would be great !

I've never lit a layout, but I am a photographer so appreciate the value of good lighting. Personally I would 'under light' it a bit as too much light can ruin colours and flatten out texture. My favourite light source is the MKI sun and if I was lighting a layout properly I'd probably use the sun as a reference. I'd say spot lights are bad as the sun isn't a spotlight, and diffused light is good as this replicates cloud cover.

Can't advice really on what to use as the lightsource, although a diffused flourescent might be a good source.

• RMweb Premium

I have lit Avonwick with spots. The heat is not an issue (they are nearly 18inch above the layout) but the focused nature of the light rather than the diffused light you get from a tube does cause issues. I have ended up with lighter and darker spots on the backscene (not shadows) that I have tried to correct by placing lights facing the back scene with only limited effect. Where I to redo the lighting I would be looking at the tube solution (and this is likely to be used for the next layout).

I have used spots and tubes on different layouts. The problem with spots is that they do seem to create shadows which really make no visual sense, but the light does seem cleaner.