Good 7mm starter kit

HI.

I posted about this some time ago, but I would now like to tackle a brass 7mm loco kit.

I have some experience of scratchbuilding and kitbuilding in brass in other scales; mainly 2mm.

My interest is the old Midland, and models which therefore spring to mind are the Slater 1F or Kirtley 0-6-0 goods engine.

The thing is that at the price of these ( £250 upwards) I don't want to buy a kit and then not be able to complete it to a decent standard!!

Would these examples be suitable for someone constructing their first 7mm locomotive?

Experienced builders, what do you think?

Many thanks

Chris

Hi Chris,

Well if you have been building in 2mm, you will find 7mm a walk in the park :pleasantry:. Having dabbled in 4mm and EM, I can honestly say that 7mm has been the most enjoyable medium to work in. As for whom I would recommend when it comes to kit suppliers it has to be Jim McGeown, http://www.jimmcgeown.com not only are his kits a joy to build, Jim is a nice genuine chap who always finds the time should you need his help. His Jinty kit is £155 at the moment, obviously you will need wheels/gearbox and motor or there is always his 4F which is a great kit in my opinion at £255. I am sure their will be many others on the forum who will agree with me when it comes to Jim's kits, they are great to start of with when it comes to 7mm.

Hope this is of some help to you,

ATB, Martyn. P.S. Have a look at his website there are lots of helpful hints on there. ;)

Being a 4mm modeller mainly I wanted to build a 7mm loco for an old friend as a Christmas present and bought the Connoisseur Starter 0-4-0 Tank Industrial loco. I found it very simple and straightforward to build and it turned into a lovely looking model and proved to be a great running loco. Having built a lot of etched kits over the years I found this to be the easiest I had ever built and would recommend it to anyone starting in 7mm kitbuilding.