Railway Book Publishers

67A

Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone could advise on a suitable railway book publisher who may be interested in taking on a photographic style book of BR in the era 1960's-1970's. I am currently scanning several thousand mainly Black & White negatives of the period and there are some cracking images among them. I have no knowledge of publishing and any help would be welcome. If this topic is against the rules (which I can not see any mention of) then please remove it and accept my apologies.

Regards

Mike

• RMweb Premium

If you can find a publisher you would normally get 25% or less of the selling price. I would suggest that you need to write and typeset your book first so that a publisher can look at it as a semi finished product.

Publishing it yourself can be done but requires capital. All you need to find is a printerwho you can trust, but it is best to have the book in as finished a state as possible. The cost of the printing will depend on 5 things.

1. The number of pages.

2. The number of illustrations.

3. The amount of design and preparation that the printer will ahve to do to get it ready for printing.

4. The print run.

5. The quality of the paper and printing which is vitsal for an illustrated book.

Once you have your books you will need to find somewhere to store them and then you need to ditribute them.

Amazon want a 60% discount for them to stock it.

There are some railway book wholoesalers and if you PM me I can give you the details of one of them, they would want at least 45% discount on the cover price.

Most of the book sellers such as ian Allan shops, MDS etc buy from the wholesalers.

However if you ahve the capital and a good product the rewards can be substantial. A society that I am part of is funding the restoration of a horse tram with the profits from a self published series of books.

I hope that this is of some help.

Jamie

• RMweb Premium