Testing hand built EM pointwork

• RMweb Premium

Good afternoon. I have been mulling over this problem for a while. I'm not very good with electrics and have never used my own hand made points in a layout build before.

I need to test a LH (2) tandem, a simple crossover and an ordinary LH. They are not to be laid together and will be added to three separate existing tracks from an existing board.

What I need to do is test them electrically (DC) with a few loco's and this will also tell me if the loco's will traverse them (I've tested wagons and bogies and pushed a Lima EM 47 through the crossings etc.)electrically and 'mechanically'.

Has anyone a suggestion as to how I should wire up each on a temporary basis (I'm fairly sure I can do the ordinary LH)? The 'frogs' are totally isolated and I've linked the various rails as per normal practice for 'live frog' running. Do I have to wire in the switches and motors ? How do I 'include' the frog for this test?

The final laying will be for DCC.

The reason for asking this is that I don't want to lay the lot and then find things won't run over them for 'mechanical' (e.g. wonky frogs/tight crossings) reasons or my electrical incompetence!

Thanks.

Phil @ 36E

• RMweb Gold

Phil,

Make sure you have cut the insulation joints.

Then buzz them out to test for shorts before you do anything too serious with them ... like laying them !

I would lay them and test in place, a lot of mechnical issues can be resolved with the points in situ, and then you are also testing the wiring ...

hth,

• RMweb Premium