Comet 14xx chassis and beginers questions

Grant Newhouse

Hello all

I have an old Airfix 14xx kicking around that I bought cheaply at a train show a few years back. It runs like a three legged horse and I’ve decided it needs a new chassis. I plan to purchase a Comet chassis but, as its my first chassis kit purchase I have a few beginners questions.

1. When purchasing Romford driving wheels, are they sold by the wheel or by the set/axel and do they include crankpins

2. Are the Markits prototypical wheel packs the best option for wheels and all associated parts

3. Are there any major advantages of a 50:1 gearbox vs. a 38:1 gearbox, and how difficult are they to assemble.

I have never done any chassis building before and I am also wondering whether the Comet 14xx chassis could be well built by a beginner.

Thank you and regards

Grant Newhouse

You can buy Romford / Markit drivers on their own and will need axles and a packet of crankpins or a complete set for the loco, ref BR 14xx

Alan Gibsons (which will come out cheaper) are sold in pairs with an axle but you will need crankpins

Buy a gearbox rather than a motor mount and gears, I would go for 50-1 for slow running

Hello Grant,

As already explained, Romford/Markits drivers are sold per wheel. It is possible to buy a wheelset direct from Markits but I believe that it will contain the 'de-luxe' crankpins rather than the standard ones, and so will come out a little more expensive.

We usually have the drivers, trailing wheels, axles and crankpins suitable for the 14xx in stock.