Help with bridge design.

Hi all. I am currently in the early stages of my layout construction. I have just finished a corner baseboard section, and have made it of 'open frame' construction.

I am a bit stuck as to how to go about the next bit. My idea, is that the ends of the platforms rest on a retaining wall, and then the retaining wall somehow leads onto a girder bridge, spanning the four running lines.

I am not very good at visualising things, and wondered if anyone else has maybes modelled, or seen a similar sort of prototype situation.

I have a mountain of books and magazines to look through, but so far have not come across anything thats inspired me.

Any help or links to photographs would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Lee

post-7202-0-91797900-1323591793.jpg

• RMweb Premium

Trowbridge station has something close to what you are describing. It is only 2 tracks though and the retaining wall is only on one of the platforms. In this case the platform continues beyond the bridge but is not used and is not accessible. In the centre of the bridge is a supporting pillar. Unfortunately this appears to be a very un photogenic bridge. Having done a quick search I have only found a couple of images showing the bridge and these only show parts not the full thing.

Lee, terminating your platforms with large square section abutments (the near side one standing on the triangular piece of ply in the middle of the picture, matching item the other side) standing at least the height of the depth of the girder if this is to be a plain beam bridge, would be one way. If you go for the simple beam, depth of the structural girder wants to be about a seventh of the length of the span.

• RMweb Gold