Fine tuning RTR drives

Guest Max Stafford

Guest Max Stafford

We now have legions of very nice RTR locos. Sometimes though, probably as a result of being mass produced on a line, individual models don't run as smoothly as they might. I'm talking about things like a tight spot in the gearing which only affects at a certain point in the revolution. I quote the above example as this is a symptom I've come across in my otherwise beautiful 3MT. Some people recommend return to the dealer, but the model otherwise runs smoothly apart from this tight spot and I would rather fix it myself.

I would welcome ideas from those with experience of a good permanent workshop remedy for this problem. I believe it'll require more than a bit of running in. I'm a three kit veteran now, so I possess a little workshop skill! ;)

Dave.

• RMweb Gold

We now have legions of very nice RTR locos. Sometimes though, probably as a result of being mass produced on a line, individual models don't run as smoothly as they might. I'm talking about things like a tight spot in the gearing which only affects at a certain point in the revolution. I quote the above example as this is a symptom I've come across in my otherwise beautiful 3MT. Some people recommend return to the dealer, but the model otherwise runs smoothly apart from this tight spot and I would rather fix it myself.

I would welcome ideas from those with experience of a good permanent workshop remedy for this problem. I believe it'll require more than a bit of running in. I'm a three kit veteran now, so I possess a little workshop skill! ;)

Dave.

I tend to find myself in the same boat with that sort of problem much preferring to try and fix rather than return (though I suppose the fact that I tend to start detailing new locos before test running them does kind of force me to do that...