If you are seeing any suspect adverts please go to the bottom of the page and click on Themes and select IPS Default. ×

Is Trix any good for UK OO ?

Trix is the 2 rail DC brand of Marklin , and as you're finding out, not cheap (The fact that Marklin still run stud contact 3 rail AC as their main range, and promote it as a viable alternative in the German market says a lot about Marklin) I have no knowledge of this particular model - German RTR has had a reputation for being high quality for many years , but some tooling in Marklin's range is pretty long in the tooth

• RMweb Premium

Not sure how the question is related to the content.

The photo and question relates to a Trix German HO model & is nothing to do with the UK or 00.

If you are asking if it will run on the same tracks, the answer is yes. But the prototypes you mentioned would never have met.

However, its your railway and of course you're entitled to run whatever you like, when it suits you.

Kevin Martin

• RMweb Gold

One problem that you may have is buffer height on the Trix loco, which being a 3.5mm scale model will be lower than the other 4mm scale models you are using, I'd suggest that you have a look at the loco before buying it, on some track with 4mm rolling stock next to it and see if the height difference is going to be acceptable for you. I suppose you could try fitting larger diameter buffer heads to make it less obvious if it does look like being a problem.

Possibly more important than the lower buffer height*, is the closer buffer spacing of H0 buffers as the models are usually seen from above. The larger Continental loading gauge means UK and Continental models are approximately the same size.

* around 2mm - about the prototype tolerance. There may be problems with some older Hornby stock which rides around 2mm high.