gp15-1; which is the best one?

class25

You don't say what scale ....

Ummm... he does...

Hello; I am new to US HO modelling ...

:D :D :D sorry Jack.. ;)

My question would be, why so specific as to loco type, so early on in a new direction...? A bigger, loco type such as GP38-2 or GP40 would be a good choice, as they were so numerous and common to a lot of Railroads. They are useful for everything from Yard switching to mainline trains as well, so wouldn't be out of place on any layout.

Re GP 15, I'm not sure who makes them offhand.... there's a Walthers Trainline one on Ebay; being at the 'cheap' end of the market the Walthers Trainline range may have chunky handrails, but in my experience they run superbly.

Dear Class25,

In HO, there are really only the 2 plastic options

- walthers/Proto2K

- Athearn

Of the 2 both are good solid mechanical runners, and IIRC both are DCC compatible (not sure if either come in DCC-equipped, or DCC+sound equipped ex factory)

For my mind, the Athearn has a slight edge in details and paint, but that's only based on some quick checks thru the LHS loco cabinent glass, and comparing of the various "hero shot" pics available online.

I get that the GP15T and -1 variants _appear_ slightly shorter than the more common GP35/38/40, (and bigger than typical shortline SW9/1200/1500 switchers),

But I would also ask, what's drawing you to the GP15s as a first-step in US-outline modelling?

Please don't mishear me, the GP15s are a very current branchline and "local freight" hauler for some of the "big railroads" going round. However, it does strike as a specific choice of loco, with a specific application, as opposed to the above-mentioned very-common GP35/38/40 "jack of all trades" locos...

Hope this helps,

Happy Modelling,

Aim to Improve,

Prof Klyzlr

• RMweb Gold