Prodigy express...

Hello all,

I wonder if anyone would be able to help a complete noob to the world of DCC.. I should firstly mention that really the only reason I want to go DCC (at least for now) is to run sound equipped locos (or loco really, as I'll only be able to afford one for a while!)

I've spent many happy (?!) hours searching & reading through this & other forums on here, & many dealer & manufacture websites over the past weeks & after my 'research' I've concluded that my upper budget limit for a controller limits me to either a Bachmann Dynamis or a Prodigy Express. I've more or less discounted the Dynamis as the 'vibes' seem to suggest that its not really a very popular system, & I don't actually fancy the joystick controller & would much prefer a knob type. Not that keen on wireless either tbh.. So that seems to direct my choice to being the Prodigy Express....

Therefore, my question is, can anyone tell me whether it would be able to control all the sound functions on either a Dapol Class 22 or a Heljan Hymek fitted with a Howes sound chip? According to the blurb on the MRC site it has "16 accessory functions to handle multi-function sound system" - would that controll all the sound functions on either of the above locos ? If not, what ones would be 'missing'?

I guess I could also throw out the question to include Bachmann Class 24/25's & 37's with factory fitted sound decoders as well, as I'd hope to add one of each of those to the loco roster in future.

Many thanks in advance for any help/advice.

ATB

Keith

This earlier discussion may be of use....

http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/topic/48707-gaugemaster-prodigy-express/

UK pricing is far away from where the Express was only two years ago (approx. £80 in US $ in the USA).

It's now being sold here for the same prices as the NCE PowerCab, another entry level system, but is less capable.

There's a discussion about the two systems here from a few years ago.