Blue brick 4mm scale

I will need to paint plastikard to resemble blue brick on my 00 layout..

Does anybody have a "recipe" that I can start with either acrylic/enamel mixture or off the shelf colour?

Many thanks

Bob Hughes

Phoenix Precision Paint do an Engineers Blue Brick Paint P954 http://www.phoenix-paints.co.uk/precision-paints/general-dirty-colours/general-building-colours.html

• 2 years later...

Here is a section of the retaining wall on Foundry Lane which was painted using the Precision Paints Engineer's Brick:

attachicon.gifDSCF2805small.jpg

I would imagine we'll be finding plenty of use for it on Black Country Blues too!

I am quite new to the hobby and this may sound like a silly question!!!

How did you get the weathered/white look between the brickwork-???? I'd like to replicate that sort of thing but with platforms!!!!

Andrew

• RMweb Premium

How did you get the weathered/white look between the brickwork-???? I'd like to replicate that sort of thing but with platforms!!!!

Andrew

Hi Andrew, not a silly question at all.  Basically it's washes of thinned down white paint.  Personally I'll only ever use enamel paints for this sort of thing as I find acrylics dry too quickly.  From memory (it's been a while since I did Foundry Lane) I did as follows:

Painted the whole wall in engineers brick colour

A thinned white/grey wash for the mortar

Cleaned off excess mortar with white spirit and (in places) a bit of T Cut to polish the brick work giving a slight sheen

Added streaks, always working downwards, with very little paint on quite a fine brush

Worthwhile practicing on an off cut of embossed brick sheet.

Hope that helps.

Andrew