Dapol "Lemberg" versus the prototype

Seanem44

I have read that Dapol's Lemburg features incorrect smoke deflectors. If they are incorrect, it is not by much. I have included a link to smugmug, which has very wonderful LNER photos from the end of steam.

The only difference I can see with the Dapol Lemburg and the prototype is the positioning of the engine number on the smokebox door. The prototype had it on the door hinge as opposed to the higher positioning on the model.

I'm no expert, but the positioning of the number changed places on the front from time to time anyways, right?

Overall I think Dapol did a great job.

http://tracksrevisited.smugmug.com/Other/60s-Steam-memories/14805943_Vjtsa/2/1106126007_dqbRe#!i=1106126007&k=dqbRe&lb=1&s=XL

The differences in the original deflectors and the later preserved 'Scotsman' deflectors are not too obvious. Compare the Lemburg picture with this: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/2c/Flying_Scotsman_2005.jpg

As far as I can see the most obvious difference is the slope at the leading edges which is a shallower angle, going back further, and a little more rounded at the front. There appear to be a couple of extra rivets behind the rear handrails and the fold of the lower edge appears sharper on the originals too.

The differences in the original deflectors and the later preserved 'Scotsman' deflectors are not too obvious. Compare the Lemburg picture with this: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/2c/Flying_Scotsman_2005.jpg

As far as I can see the most obvious difference is the slope at the leading edges which is a shallower angle, going back further, and a little more rounded at the front. There appear to be a couple of extra rivets behind the rear handrails and the fold of the lower edge appears sharper on the originals too.