First Layout - Should I Go for DCC?

Pint of Pedigree

I have been contemplating building a layout for the last 10 years or so, but while other priorities got in the way, I have spent the time acquiring a lot of stock, locos and plain track. I have now started on the layout and am planning a 17'6" x 9'0" double track oval, with up and down goods loops, a station and a goods yard on one of the long sides and a fiddle yard on the other, although I haven't decided on the exact arrangement yet. Having read up on the advantages of live frog points, I intended to use these with polarity switching (except in the fiddle yard where I already have enough standard Hornby points).

I have previously disregarded DCC because of the difficulty of converting the older locos and the need to buy the decoders and controller before getting anything running, whereas I already have analogue controllers and (as it seemed at first) just needed to connect them up, add some wires and the layout was up and running. However, I am only just now appreciating that with track feeds; isolating breaks; polarity switching and signalling circuits and the cost of the switches and wire, wiring the layout for analogue working will not be easy or cheap. I am no electrician, but have read up on the subject and while I think I can do it, it will be long and complicated and probably quite expensive. So before becoming committed too far, I thought it was worthwhile reconsidering DCC and ask advice from the people who know, hence this post.

My loco roster is as follows and while some are DCC ready most aren't, being older Hornby and Bachmann types, although unused (apart from running-in) since purchase:

Bachmann split chassis: 1 x Class A4 4-6-2; 1 x Class J39 0-6-0; 2 x Class J72 0-6-0s; 1 x Class V1 2-6-2; 1 x Class V2 2-6-2

Bachmann DCC ready: 1 x Class K3 2-6-0; 1 x Class O4 2-8-0; 1 x Class 108 3 car DMU.