Freight Line

Guest Dave.C

I have been promising myself a railway around the loft for quite a few years. I have been ready to go for a couple of months but couldn’t quite decide on a plan.

A chance reading of an online blog (thanks Sulzer27jd) drew my attention to the phrase “Try before you buy... even if you have to borrow a layout to do it”. Armed with that idea I made a list of all the good and (if any) bad points from my experiences operating Club, friends, and my own previous layouts. I further added to this by mentally scrutinising the layouts I have seen at exhibitions and even online that 'flick my switch'

The plan then fell into place:

The aim is to build the equivalent of of a family estate rather than a six figure sum sports car so I will certainly be following the Keep It Simple ethos, and hope to end up with something roomy and comfortable to watch trains go by.

With a decent festive break this year I have been able to make a reasonably fast start.

I suspect that the normal way of building a layout around a room would be to build the boards, lay the track, wire it up and then sort the scenics out. I am following more of a 'Wallace & Grommet' approach by starting at the fiddleyard and working around the room until I link up with the other end.

To date I have boards fixed to two walls. On the shorter side,track is laid and wired up for the fiddleyard. The longer side has the branch line laid trainset style so I can at leest run trains up and down. A start has also been made on the scenics and backdrop behind the tracks.

13-01-01-01.jpg

• 2 weeks later...
Guest Dave.C

This neck of the woods is full of little areas where stone has been extracted at one time or another.

I thought I would fill a corner with such an area that could contain an abandoned car or other fly tipped rubbish.

It started as a hole stuffed with polystyrene:

13-01-09-01.jpg