double heading and top and tailed sound locos

virginhst539

i have started the project of converting a vitrains 37 in to a DRS 37/6. the plan is to sound fit the 37/6 and run in multi with 37229 also a vitrains model as seen on many DRS workings and charters. the only problem is i know legomanbiffos sound chips take power in an under load state where as 37229 justs moves as soon as power is applied. im no expert when it comes to DCC infact i would not know where to start with CV's ect but is there away i can fine tune the Hornby decoder in 37229 with a legomanbiffo 37 decoder for the best results in multi working? i have a sound chipped 37 that i tested 229 with but it just dragged it when taking power and got pushed when slowing =/.

I can't answer your original question but you will need to master the principle of changing CVs if you are to make any progress. Did you form a consist in order to test your 37 with 229 - if so then you changed some CVs? In order to overcome the problem of one loco pushing another, you will need to match each of (at least) 28 speed steps by changing their CVs. A search of the forums will provide a lot of information - try "matching speed steps". After you have done that in silent mode, you can tweak things with sound on but it is likely to be tricky because of the different characteristics of the prototypes and, I guess, the way they were drivesn when the recordings were made.

I am sure you will have more informative comments from others.

Harold