Lima O gauge Mk1s

nigelrbfurness

Hello

I'm new to RMWeb and haven't quite got the hang of searching for information yet.  Can anyone please point me at any information regarding the improving Lima O gauge BR Mk1 coaches?   I rashly bought half a dozen and they seem to be scaled up models of tri-ang's 1960s MK1s!!  The bogies look wrong and I'm sure there are other issues, not to mention the glazing.  So any info on how to rework these would be wonderful.

o

Thanks

Nigel F.

Sourcing parts from JLTRT westdale and easy build would be a good start. JLTRT supply etched or cast bogies. Im sure there will be more on here who have tackled these conversions who could help better.

You might want to change the thread to detailing Lima MK1s Help and information needed or something like that to get the right attention.

post-12623-0-23361700-1381177906_thumb.jpg

This is my rake of three LIMAs running behind a Heljan 47 and despite the bodies being slightly underscale they look perfectly fine as long as they are not coupled up to other coaching stock. I fitted Easybuild bogies to mine which run very freely. I decided not to try to widen mine as some people have done as although the width over the body is a scale 6" underscale, the distance over the solebars is only 2" under so the discrepancy is mainly in the overhang and the trusses are actually too far apart. I fitted SE Finecast windows but Easybuild offer castings for both inside and outside frame windows while several people offer window frame etchings. I also detailed up the underframes and moved one of the battery boxes on the BSK which is in the wrong position (despite what is shown on some drawings). A copy of Parkins 'Mark One Coaches' is a good general guide to what needs doing. The parts lists of several 0 Gauge parts suppliers can be accessed via the Gauge 0 Guild list of Traders websites (you don't have to be a Guild member to look at it).