An interesting Scottish layout for a complete beginner?

Trickydicky

I have always loved steam locomotives and history and have recently decided to undertake a modelling project.  I know the Glasgow to Oban line only too well and had thought of trying to model Ardlui or Crianlarich.  I have found reference to an old layout of Ardlui but have not been able to find a layout.  Do any members have any old layouts of either station, or a similar station that I could borrow?  Being a complete newcomer, even having bought layout guides, I am still confused about designing a layout.  Any help to an aging but keen beginner would be very much appreciated.

I seem to recall a feature in Railway Modeller (I think)
Maybe about 7 or 8 years back,
which was a history, photos and plans of Ardlui....

Sorry I can't be any more specific - but if I come across a copy of it, I'll let you know
Ian Futers's books would be a good starting point for anyone considering modelling a Scottish station,
as he has built several fine examples, in O gauge, and seems to know the subject very well

Good luck, and let us know how you get on

Marc 

Also see this Months Railway Modeller as Ian has an article in there as well, it came out today.

Good luck, and also have a look at my Glen Roy and Loch Leven links below, you may get some ideas from that.

All the best,

Andy

• RMweb Gold

You will find this forum a haven of good advice and more importantly encouragement for your project.

There is so much inspiration and a wealth of information here that you cannot possibly go wrong, and if it does look as if you are running into a brick wall, someone on here will be able to help you out.

In fact you'll probably end up with so much information, you'll decide to do something larger and more complex.

As far as planning a model railway is concerned, my only advice would be to keep it simple and give yourself realistic targets that are achievable in a reasonable time scale.