Underground cabling

manna

G'Day Gents

I'm building a model of Edgware station (GN) in the 1930's, in the 20's the Northern Line was extended to Edgware, it passed under the (then) LNER branch to Edgware, which is also part of the model, and I have to include the cabling along side the tracks, would anyone know the distance between the uprights, I've judged them to be app 5'

Thank you.

manna

Must admit I'm not an expert in this field and defer to others on RMWeb who are - however I'll always learn from these sorts of enquiries.

I guess you've taken a look at the LT Museum's online photograph collection already, and I can see in there a number of pictures of the Edgware extension including an excellent couple of views of cable-laying in the 1920s. This tells me that the cable runs on this section probably included not only signal cables but also the larger 'high tension' [power or HT] cables.

The furthest back I can get in archive drawings, so far, is a 1936 proposal for a design standard which gives 8-foot centres for signalling cable suports, and 4-foot centres when supporting HT cable. So, my suggestion is to try supports at 4-foot intervals, and check for appearance with contemporary photographs. 5' might be wise if the closer spacing seems overpowering.

Checking a much more modern standard for the railway, separation of HT cable supports is given as 1200mm...