New Camera - Nikon D7100 vs D610

Michael Woolford

I am looking at getting a new camera body and have been looking at the D7100 or the D610. I'm focused on Formula 1 and photography at airshows, with the occasional railway related photographs. I have read several reviews and comparisons of the two and am swaying strongly towards the D7100 for two main reasons. The first being that the D7100 has a DX format sensor and provides a 1.5x crop magnification when using non DX lenses. If I were to go for the D610 which has a full frame FX sensor, I would then lose the extra focal length with the lenses that I have/intend to buy and since most of my photography requires longer focal lengths I feel I would be loosing out. The only alternative would be to use bigger lenses such as a 300mm or 200-400m, both of which run into the £4000 range. I just couldn't afford or justify the cost of such lenses unless I was a professional photographer. A 200-400mm f/4 would be useful but is just way out of the question. I'm currently looking at the 70-200mm f/2.8 and the 80-400 f/4.5-5.6 as options for upgrading my lenses.

The second factor leads on from the point of the expense of the lenses I would need if I went for a D610. The cost of the D610 is around £500 more: £1249 compared to £765; is it really worth the extra to go FX given the issues for me?

The great thing about buying either at the moment is that Nikon are running a promotion which entitles you to a free battery grip when buying either; a saving of over £200 if you bought it separately which is making me think even more about making a purchase after Christmas. 

I would be interested to hear from anyone who has either of these cameras or has used them before. Thanks in advance.

Michael

• RMweb Gold

Are you set on Nikon? The reason I say that is I've always found Canon to have a wider choice of lenses available at different price points giving more choice. Plus I wouldn't discount third party lenses.