Where to buy some cable

PGC

For a job that is nothing to do with model railways, I need to buy some 4 core (minimum) cable that is like the old telephone wire. I hope this image will both show what I mean and not be copyright infringement.

I have tried looking at the Maplins and RS websites, but can't see anything, although I could be searching for the wrong product completely. I would really appreciate it if someone can give me pointers on what I need to search for or, even better still, where I can buy some of this cable.

Thanks in advance.

Phil

Do be careful cutting telephone curly cords, they tend to have a core made from aluminium strands and are unsolderable. That's why they are crimped. You can cut the spades off these connections and press the shank into a connector strip.

As a retired telephone engineer I have used these "operator headset cables" but I would not recommend them, they can get warm with "heavy" current passage. 

As to four core telephone cable, well firstly the usual configuration is 6 core( 3 twins) and being single stranded it is not really suitable for model railway use.

Seek out your local  electronics supplier and buy by the 100 metres, ask if they have a certain colour which they cannot sell, that's the cheap one.

Have you considered using X-Bus cables? These can be bought  up to 6 metres long. Try Roco's website.

As always, I hope this helps.

I don't think curly phone cord is much use, I would not put oe than half an amp through it and the only way to connect it seems to be crimping.  I need to understand what you want to use it for, even on 16 volts connecting the wrong sort of hand held controller through this cord could easily start a fire.

Thanks for all the responses. I should have made clear that it's not mains cable I'm after.