Buying my first video camera.

Simon Moore

Hi all

I've been doing railway photography now for quite a number of years & I've decided I would like to capture my day trips with video too.

I thought now is a good time as we are expecting a child & I would also like to capture those moments too.

I'm no expert with cameras so I would like to get some advice from everyone on here. I'm looking for something that won't break the bank but will be good for railwayss as well as at home. My budget is about £150

Cheers

Simon

I was reading some stuff on making videos for business use recently, so mainly talking rather than action, and was surprised that the recommendation was to use the video facility on a digital "still" camera, in preference to an actual video camera. I've used mine for video a bit, but always considered it a convenience, as I don't have to carry so much stuff around, but not the way to go to get good results. They recommended a £500 Canon, plus extra for lenses, a mic etc, so not cheap, but it made me wonder whether just having one camera for stills and video is now a good choice. My 10 year old Fuji cost around £150 new, and the video isn't bad. I assume the quality is vastly improved by now.

• RMweb Premium

Hi, i take video using a Panasonic camcorder, which is fine. Before you buy your camera, I suggest you think about video editing software (especially check for compatability with you camcorder). You'll also need to think about the capability of your computer for editing (editing uses lots of computer power) and memory as video files are very big.