Scratchbuilt building

Hello

Here's a little store building I've been working on, very simple. It's a card shell with Slaters embossed brick glued to it using Evostick. I've never used Slaters plastic sheets before and the only other buildings I've scratchbuilt in plastic were 2 small buildings for Talerddig and I used Wills sheets for both of those.

The main purpose for this building, apart from practicing building techniques was to experiment with painting brickwork.

This building was first sprayed with grey primer then drybrushed with Humbrol 62 Matt Leather to give it a patchy appearance. Following this I used a wash of cream coloured emulsion wiped off straight away, the theory being to remove paint from the bricks but not 'mortar'. I found this was most effective if done in small areas. After the whole building had been done, I lightly drybrushed the surface with more Matt Leather and dark brown oil paint.

I'm fairly happy with the results so far - think it's got potential with a bit more practice :lol:

post-3171-0-29172100-1309688891_thumb.jpg

post-3171-0-58556300-1309688900_thumb.jpg

The untouched rear wall for comparison

post-3171-0-65101600-1309688923_thumb.jpg

Matt,

Many thanks for posting this. I find it very difficult to choose colours and I think your bricks are great. I have made a note of Humbrol 62 Matt Leather for future reference.

Harold.

• RMweb Gold

Looks good to me.

The leather paint works better - I've not used that myself, but will in future judging by your results.

The tone changes work as well. I don't like to see 'individual' painted bricks unless on a very old building, as they don't quite look right. The bricks on a modernish building tend to be similar colour as these are generally from the same batch.

Looks good to me.

The leather paint works better - I've not used that myself, but will in future judging by your results.