Chadwood

Rammy

Hi all

I thought it was time I transferred Chadwood across to the new forum. I have chosen to go for a layout topic as I just can't seem to get on with the blogs yet (Sorry Andy!). Maybe later!

Anyway, I have been working on Chadwood very slowly for over a year. As a total newbie to this hobby it has been a steep learning curve. Several things have changed as I have gone along, but the basic concept has remained the same.

Here is a quick summary in pictures of the progress so far:

100_3430.jpg

100_3366.jpg

100_3605.jpg

P1638_12-07-09.jpg

P1522_18-07-09.jpg

I have spent the last month out of the loft (due to the cold) and having serious thoughts about the way forward. I had become unhappy with how the layout was coming together and the long term "playability" of the finished layout. I have always intended to have a depot or something to give some operational interest, but also a "roundy-roundy" element where I can set a few trains going and sit back and watch. With the existing plan I was not sure how well these elements worked, especially the roundy-roundy as the circuits weren't that long.

As a result I have been playing around on Winrail and have come up with an alternative plan that does not affect the existing station area that I have spent most of my time building so far, but will allow trains to travel around both the upper and lower levels. I just need to check out the gradient to see if this will work in practice.

I am still not convinced that the depot area is quite right. I will need some sidings somewhere to drop off the wagons and store spare ones. Maybe the industrial estate will have to go, although I was really looking forward to modelling that area. If anyone has any ideas you could throw together for the depot / storage sidings it would be very much appreciated.

Here are the new plans (so far!) :

Loft2010lower.jpg

Lower level

Loft2010upper.jpg

Upper level

Any help / comments appreciated.

Dave

• 1 month later...