Uckfield branch

Pete 75C

2 questions:

When was the Uckfield branch singled?

When did the loco hauled morning and evening trains cease?

I used to be a driver at Norwood and prior to that as a young secondman, remember working down to Uckfield from London Bridge in the evening with a Crompton and Mk1 stock (I think). It was a rare treat for a Norwood driver to haul something other than freight! We used to detach and run round when the station was the far side of the road. If we were quick there was just time for a pint* before the return journey! I think the return journey was ecs to Selhurst. We would have propelled the stock from platform 1 or 3 at Norwood Junction into Selhurst yard (this was way before the construction of Selhurst New Shed) before detaching the loco and dropping it off outside the mess room at Norwood. Then, knowing us, probably time for another pint!* From memory this would have been around 1985.

I left Norwood in the late 80s and spent some time just across the yard at Selhurst. I remember the Cowden crash in October 94. Sadly the driver of the down train was a good friend of mine and I vaguely knew the driver and guard of the up train. All three were killed. Luckily the guard of the down train escaped unhurt.

Having left Norwood in 1989, I never again travelled the Uckfield branch either as train crew or as a passenger. By the time of the Cowden crash, I know the line had been singled and Uckfield station rebuilt London side of the road (hardly a station - more of a "halt"). Exact dates would be useful if anyone knows.

* I don't, by the way, condone drinking and driving in any form. I was young and stupid. Although commonplace at the time, today it would no doubt result in criminal charges and instant dismissal...

Thanks, Pete.