Working level crossing gates in OO

Hello,

at first excuse my crude english, I come from Germany.

For my OO layout Blackmoor Vale  I have scratchbuilded working level crossing gates.
The base is the Peco kit LK-50.
The gates are driven by four servos, the power comes from a ESU servo decoder 51802 SwitchPilot Servo.
For controlling I use now simple switches, but DCC via adres is even possible.

I have made a little video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7uVltKXq_no

If you have questions, dont hesitate to ask.

Best greetings from Potsdam

Torsten

Lovely job Torsten I hope you will do a thread on how you have done it.I'm playing with some Airfix kits and I had thought about using servos.

I have never used servos before,so a thread would be a good idea I know a few others on here have posted questions on ideas for working crossing gates. Many thanks for showing-Simon

Here now the report.

The base for the crossing gates are the Peco kit LK-50. Further I used the ESU servodecoder SwitchPilot Servo article number 51802, four Servos ESU no.51804, some plastic sheets 2mm and plastic angle 20 mm.

First drill a hole in every gate over the whole lenght in the upper part of the inner column, diameter 0,5 mm.

hp43-5p-3644.jpg

Next drill two holes 0,8 mm inline in every pillar. Later you see, how it works.

hp43-5r-854d.jpg

Remove the small noses on the gates. Left nose removed, right the original condition.

hp43-5s-e2c0.jpg

Fit the actuating wire (0,5mm) into the column and the pillar, making a joint like a door. If you choose the drill in the right diameter, it is no necessity of glue, the connection ist snuggly.

hp43-5t-274a.jpg

Drill a hole of 2 mm in your base board and fit the pillar/gate unit. The necessary length of the actuating wire should be at least 20 mm under the basebord (depends of the thickness on your baseboard).

hp43-5u-eae2.jpg