Making a start in 7mm for the first time : Now Dominion Dock Goods - Layout update

Robin Gristwood

Hello everyone.

This is my first post on this forum. I’ve been modelling American HO for the last fifteen years or so http://bigbluetrains.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=6088, but feel drawn towards something more familiar in prototype yet a different challenge as far as modelling, so modelling British 7mm seems to fit the bill.

I won’t be jumping in head first just yet. I am not dismantling my HO layout yet, I’m planning for the future, but for now I’m building an O gauge micro layout. I’m sure I will need to ask loads of newbie type questions.

I’ve been impressed by so many of the micro layouts on this forum, I love to model details and O gauge seems like the perfect scale for that. A large layout in 4mm or HO takes a lot of time to get anywhere near finished so I’m hoping this micro layout will whet my appetite to carry on in 7mm for the long term.

For my micro layout I have blatantly stolen the plan developed by Marc Smith http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/topic/9892-minimum-space-o-gauge-layout/ 

I particularly liked the idea of the fully scenicked sector plate. As such a high proportion is fiddle yard it seems preferable visually to blend it somehow with the layout itself.

Micro%20Layout_zpsp5htiudk.jpg

I may flip it so that the entry track comes in from the right though.

I looked at the minimum Inglenook specifications and it was 3-2-2 capacities for the 3 roads and a headshunt of loco and 2 wagons. I originally planned that, but thought I might as well add another 6” and increase capacity and shunting options and overall look too.

I haven't decided on what structures to include yet, or the setting. I was thinking of some sort of small permanent way sidings with a small store and all the bits and pieces associated with it.