Point Motors for beginners

SirStanierFan6229

I'm just starting out in model railways, and need some simple advice about point motors - are the necessary on a small (8ft by 4ft) layout? How are the powered? How are they installed? Is there anything specific I need to know about wiring them? And which ones are recommended?

In addition, I have heard of sprung point mechanisms, that don't need wiring, but can't find any for sale... are they recommended, and would need to make my own?

If it would help to see my planned layout, I'm attaching it below.

Thanks.

post-27586-0-74539300-1446838973_thumb.jpg

No, they are not necessary! The "sprung" mechanisms you have in mind are all the main ready-to-lay track systems, such as Peco, Hornby and Bachmann. They have a centre spring in each point, which holds the point blades tight against the stock rail, in the direction in which you have set it (by hand or by motor). (Unsprung points are restricted to the finer scale point makers, such as C&L, Marcway and Tillig, so avoid them for now, unless you want to leap in to the deep end). Fingers are all the motor you need for a simple layout where you can reach every point easily. The problems may start to come with electrical continuity, where you rely on contact between the blade and the stock rails, to continue the power onto the siding or section of track beyond the point. This has little to do with motors and more to do with wiring up your layout to prevent most of this.

You only start to need motors when you want to avoid the "big hand in the sky" appearing across your layout, which you might also need for coupling and uncoupling anyway, for which other motor gadgets are also available.