Class 28s. Why?

Waraqah

Hi Everyone,

I'd like to start with a couple of aplogies; first if this is in the wrong place, I really couldn't decide whether it should be under Questions or Discussions, but then I thought, Well, I am asking a question, so...

Second, sorry if anyone's asked this before, but...

As I'm not a railwayman in any way, shape or form, and I've got no background in engineering, could someone explain the reasoning behind the introduction of the Class 28, and the Co-Bo wheel arrangement in general.

I've read that the 28s were dogged by engine trouble, but even this weren't true, it seems the wheel arrangement placed severe limits on their route availability, so was there some advantage to it that would have offset this drawback?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can shed some light on my ignorance.

Waraqah

• RMweb Premium

If you think of what sits where within the body, you will find that the load on each axle is not the same. If a loco weighs 100t and rides on a Bo-Bo wheel arrangement then it doesn't necessarily mean that each axle carries 25t. Generally the no.1 end is where the radiator group lives, moving along to the engine, generator and finally the electrical equipment. Compressors, exhausters and other kit gets slid in wherever there is space.

Now I'm not sure of how a 28 is laid out, but look at a 31 and to lower the RA they are A1A-A1A. The 28 is actually lighter, but with 5 traction motors it has better tractive effort because of that and its marginally higher axle loading. I would guess that weight distribution dictated the need for the extra axle. A bit like Audi and Volvo using 5 cylinder engines, more oomph than 4, but less fuel than 6.....

HTH

Dave

• RMweb Gold

Use of 5 axles was supposed to even out the axle loading due to the uneven weight disribution within the body.