Replacement 21pin PCB for 8pin Locos

• RMweb Gold

I am getting quite fed up with trying to cram lighting boards etc. into old 8pin locos where I want to benefit from multiple functions, the sort of things that are standard on the more modern 21pin locos. I find it made all the harder by the fact that these locos often were not designed with sound in mind and space is very limited.

So, harking back to my previous existence as an electronics engineer, I am now giving thought to designing and having manufactured a replacement PCB to upgrade some of my locos to 21pin decoders, providing solder connections for the functions available on the chip with resistors included to support head / marker / tail and cab lighting. The intention would be that in the PCB would fit in the existing mounts and be produced as a professional board with solder resist and screen printing. I am currently looking at the 8pin Bachmann Class 44 / 45 / 46.

So, my question is, would anybody else be interested in such a scheme? I have had a brief look at costings and I believe that the cost could be around £10 per board based on what I consider a relatively achievable number of boards. Given that LEDs are fairly cheap this would mean that a replacement board and LEDs would probably not be significantly different to the cost of a typical lighting kit. (I don't intend to be providing the lighting).

What do you think?

Roy

• RMweb Premium

Have you looked at using the ESU 21 pin adapter board?

http://www.esu.eu/en/products/accessories/adapterplatinen/21mtc-adapter-board/

I've hard wired an 8-pin socket to one a few times.

They also do one that enables Aux 3 and 4 to be used.

http://www.esu.eu/en/products/accessories/adapterplatinen/21mtc-adapter-board-2/

Cheers,

Mick

• RMweb Gold

http://www.esu.eu/en/products/accessories/adapterplatinen/21mtc-adapter-board-2/

Cheers,

Mick

Thanks Mick,