Shear legs

Hi

I spotted the shear legs in the attached picture at Doncaster last week.

Unfortunately the kids were playing up at the time and I didn't have time to talk to the end exhibitors.

Does anyone know if the shear legs are available as a kit in OO?

Thanks

Andy

post-24882-0-26705300-1487522943_thumb.jpg

Don't think the GWR went in for that sort of thing, it looks far too modern.  It should really have a Midland 4F dangling from it not a GWR 4 cylinder loco. A hot box was a big issue on the GW bearings had to be sent to and from Swindon, the LMS could turn round a 4F in a couple of hours, they had plenty of practice.

• RMweb Gold

Described as a hoist on their website.  Not sure a sheerlegs (the spelling I know it as, which of course may not be correct) is exactly the same thing.  Crane experts to the forum. please...

I'm not a crane expert but I'd have spelt it "shearlegs".  I agree that it isn't the same thing though.  I think of shearlegs as simple three-legged cranes or hoists.

• RMweb Gold

Surely no loco was ever lifted that high by one end only, was it? And supported on its injectors/drag beam?! 

I agree.  I've never seen a picture of anything so drastic.  I thought they only lifted locos enough to be able to roll the bogie and/or driving wheels out, i.e. take the weight + several inches.

Hopefully there will be someone on here who has actually done this either on the real railway or on a preserved line.

• RMweb Premium