Any ideas for track plans?

I'm pretty new to railway modelling and thought that this would be the best place to get some advice. I was thinking of making an O gauge micro layout, either based on mountain Ash colliery or the longmoor military railway, so I'm looking for some advice on track plans. Preferably no more than 4ft and using only two points. Any help would be much appreciated. 

• RMweb Premium

Your best chance is to google micro layouts (or use the search function on here), this will provide lots of inspiration. Fitting 2 points into 4ft in O gauge however will be a challenge. 

It is possible to scale up Scalescenes models to O gauge. They do a couple of micro layouts meant to fit in a box file for 4mm but these would fit into the size you are looking for in O. 

• Thanks 1

You could do worse than a search for 'Minories' -style, or 'shunting-puzzle' layouts.  

There are realistically quite limited permutations given your spec!  

• Thanks 1

Two points implies you're looking at something often referred to as an 'Inglenook'.  The issue is that four foot isn't really long enough to make it work well in O Gauge.

If micro layouts is your desired genre, then you may be interested in https://www.carendt.com/micro-layout-design-gallery/  

Alternatively, browse some of the layouts in the micro layout section of this forum.  https://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/forum/151-boxfiles-micro-layouts-dioramas/

Edited by Dungrange
  • Agree 1
  • Thanks 1

5 minutes ago, The lone cyberbloke said:

How much would I have to enlarge a OO gauge layout to be O gauge?

O Gauge is 7mm / ft, whereas 00 is 4 mm / ft.  Therefore, a track plan that fits in four foot in 00, will require seven foot in O Gauge.  If you can go to six foot, then that would be the equivalent of about 3'6" in 00, which can work, but it depends on your choice of stock.

• Thanks 1

• RMweb Gold