3D Printing Modern Wagons in O

njee20

• RMweb Premium

Thought I had a thread on these, but couldn’t find it, so here’s one!

I’ve always been an N gauge modeller, but Dapol’s 66 announcement and a re-run of the Heljan 60 finally tipped me over the edge into trying O. But what point if they have nothing to haul!? I’ve been dabbling in 3D printing for a few years, and have built up quite a repertoire of N gauge wagons; so a while back I thought I’d try and upscale one to O and see if it worked. Turns out it does…

I started with the Drax IIA biomass wagons. I printed this in 3 parts, part one here alongside its 2mm brother!

image.jpeg.9efb851f51929dce63a58ba5eec22f70.jpeg

All 3 parts glued together, with a OO and N gauge one for comparison!

image.jpeg.28bafca5ca5158d3f7b4e254747ce3e8.jpeg

TF25 bogies fitted with Lowmac wheels; the dampers on these need adjusting to be more vertical; I used a dodgy photo with some parallax error for the CADs!

image.jpeg.f2d17bdf4e6d4a5e2e878a0992f89816.jpeg

Here painted with basic decals applied:

image.jpeg.9fdbf7c85234a9664d5790d8459889c6.jpeg

And finally this week I got some track and the 60 to go with it!

image.jpeg.f98185afc7848b982ae14325f1a0e910.jpeg

And it turns out it’s a bit small! And the buffers are too close together, and marginally too high. And I forgot to add a recess to fit the couplings. Plus I’ve literally just scaled up the N gauge CAD on this, so I now need to add in all the extra detail that wouldn’t print in N, like panel lines. But it’s a start. I love the idea of 20 of them behind the 60 in the garden. Just need to convince the wife… more to follow! 

• Like 6
  • Craftsmanship/clever 9
  • Round of applause 4

Very impressive!  

not my era at all, but I’m familiar with the wagons from trips to Liverpool, they seem to store them at Edge Hill.