Bachmann 7F running issue - help please

TypsJunction

Hi all,

Just purchased a Bachmann 7F from online. Been told it has never been run, and to be fair it is in excellent condition.

Ran it for the first time shortly ago however every wheel rotation the model seems to ‘jump’. Seems to be coming from somewhere in the mechanical at the cab end.

I’ve no experience in mechanisms or taking models apart to a large extent so any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

video of loco running issue as YouTube unlisted link

• RMweb Premium

Can you film the same as above but running a bit slower/longer and keeping the camera more in one place. It looks likely to be an issue with the motion.

Edit also looking at the other side too. Having just played at 0.25 speed the motion this side looked ok.

Edited by SR71

3 hours ago, SR71 said:

Can you film the same as above but running a bit slower/longer and keeping the camera more in one place. It looks likely to be an issue with the motion.

Edit also looking at the other side too. Having just played at 0.25 speed the motion this side looked ok.

Thank you for your reply. 
Here’s a video of it running slower, hopefully is okay. 

I’ve also got a video of me holding wheels in place and axle gear still spinning (not great I know), but proves issue isn’t with the wheels or con rods.

• RMweb Premium

It looked like the valve gear was clashing but that last video shows you have bigger concerns. The gear shouldn't spin on the axle like that.

If you've spun the gear on the axle  and the jump happens at the same point in the rotation it's almost certainly valve gear / motion related. It doesn't look like the gear is slipping in your other videos so I don't think that is the cause though it may have been caused by your problem.

Trouble is even if you do find the cause that slipping gear is going to stop it pulling much. I don't know the history of these models so it might be worth searching to see if it's a known fault?