Re-painting RTR locos

I have some RTR locos in "Big Four" livery that I want to repaint in first era BR outfits.  The locos are from various manufacturers.

Because of ventilation concerns in my small modelling room, I would prefer to use acrylic paint in my airbrush. 

I am new to all of this so I would like to ask that, after thorough cleaning and de-greasing:-

1. what further preparations need to be done to the original paintwork?

2. do I need to apply some sort of primer on top of the original paint?  If so can this be an acrylic primer?

3. can I apply an acrylic colour directly onto the original paint?

4. I want to paint the locos in BR green; is this described as Brunswick Green?

Many thanks in anticipation of your helpful advice.

Edited by TyBryn

In my experience a suitable primer is essential to give a neutral base as the base colour can affect the appearance of the top coat. In your case, a green topcoat requires a grey primer - Halfords acrylic primer is good for this.

Take a look at Railmatch acrylics for the correct shades.

You may want to lightly sand away any existing printed 'transfers' as the paint used by manufacturers can react adversely.

You may want to consider complete disassembly of the loco body's separate mouldings to avoid lots of unnecessary and tricky masking.

And make sure the replacement transfers are available before you start.

• Like 1

I go with... Strip to bodyshell, Strip paint, clean, prime, light sand, clean, top coats, gloss varnish if using waterside transfers... (sometimes I don't bother with this if using dry rub transfers), apply varnish (your finsh preference ) and then weather and if needed apply some more varnish to seal everything.