Chestnut Street

captinfranko

This is my first time posting on RMweb although I do follow a number of the Layout topics. I am presenting my very own modern image double layer 00 gauge layout named Chestnut Street. I had a big layout in the loft of the family home as a child but when this house was unfortunately burnt down I lost a lot of my track and stock, and with it my interest. Now I have my own house and sizeable garage the interest has been rekindled. Once my fiance bought me the Hornby pendolino for Christmas I set to work on creating my own layout, using other layouts such as Camelot Junction as inspiration.

I have been working on the layout on and off for approximately a year and I am now about to start installing point motors and adding the second level which will incorporate a full station and additional running loop. The centerpiece of the layout is a scratch built suspension bridge built by my late grandfather, which at a later stage in the build I shall paint and finish completely. He also made the 6 road engine shed in the TMD, which also needs some repair work. In all there are 4 running loops on the layout with the future addition of a fifth once the second level and station have been added.