Hornby eastcoast HST

carl1967

Hi all

I was just wondering what everybody thinks about the new East Coast Livery colours!

Hornby have done it a bright silver and its not the right silver to me. The real sets have a lot of blue in the silver and its not just the way the light is shining on it.

I see them every day.

What are your thoughts??

Carl

post-6809-0-42180800-1308071827_thumb.jpg

Just a thought, could the difference in colour possibly be down to a layer of muck, grime and squashed bugs? Your one looks very nice though!

No, I studied it very closely at Perth station, I even cleaned and polished a bit up and its got lots of blue tint to it.

this is how close my camara got!

http://youtu.be/JX_x3quYSF4

I'm not sure how true this is, but I have heard that Hornby have a policy of lightening colours by 15-20% to make them "scale colour". It may well be just a rumour but it would seem to apply here and it also applies to the new ScotRail 156, which is horribly pale and spoils an otherwise very attractive livery. Compare it with Bachmann's 170, which I think is spot on. Whatever the reason, it's very frustrating when otherwise nice models are spoiled by inaccurate colours. I've spent hours respraying Hornby InterCity Mk 3s to get rid of that horrible "yellow" pale grey.

Dave

Guest Illustrious37

I think it looks far too light, nearer to the East Coast Silver on Class 91/Mk 4 sets. Hornby also have this annoying habit of painting radiator grills Black as on this release.

• 1 month later...

Rather ironically one of the power cars modelled in the pack - 43300 - is the first EC power car to get repainted in a different livery. It emerged from Brush about a week ago in plain grey with a purple stripe, black roof (including the cab) and black nameplates