Binding Coupling Rods on CSB chassis for 4mm DJH Duchess

gaf2u

Hello

Haven't posted for a long time, but frustration is driving me to seek pointers or advice on this chassis.

I am building a 4mm DJH Duchess kit, and decided that I wanted to convert it to a continuous spring beam type per the CLAG protocol. This is my first attempt at this as all previous chassis have either been uncompensated, or done per the Sharman flexichassis 3-point principle. Used the CLAG excel calculator (there's no sketch for a Duchess chassis layout in the templates at present) to determine fulcrum positions, and the new High Level CSB jig to mark them onto the chassis.

Fitted High Level hornblocks (standard on two axles, and space savers on rearmost driven axle) which are a dream. Worked out fantastic, and chassis rolls really smoothly when wheeled up with no motion gear fitted- I'll do all future chassis this way I think.

I have now encountered a bit of a hurdle though. I split the coupling rods and reformed into two pairs for left and right sides, having laminated Gibson universal coupling rods to the rear of the DJH ones supplied. Fettled as required, fitted crankpin bushes, and got everything to roll nicely with coupling rods fitted. Inserted a North Yard 36:1 2-stage box (this seems to be the only one narrow enough to fit a DJH chassis with hornblocks) and powered up via a temporarily mounted Mashima motor.