Which direction do I change CVs

• RMweb Premium

I have a new Bachmann 3F run in on DC, runs beautifully smooth, I have just inserted a Bachmann 21 pin decoder and progrmmed it. The only setting I changed was the speed steps from 28 to 128. However the loco starts too quickly then takes off like scalded cat and slows down again the repeats its erratic (no not erotic) dance. I have little experience with 21pin decoders (hence me trying to insert it upside down for 10mins!) but reading the site I see that CVs 54 and 55 should be alterd to tame the beastie. I read through all the CVs; 54 is set at 32 and 55 set at 24 I am happy to alter the CVs if these are the ones to do, but I am not sure if I should alter the values up or down? and should a for instance rise of 10 in 54 be followed by a rise of 10 in 55? and would it be better to start with single increments or say 5 at a time? I would be grateful for help form anyone who can advise me, ideally anyone who has chipped the new 3F, but TBH any help will be appreciated

CVs 54 and 55 are for Back EMF I think. I think the BEMF may be defaulted too high. High BEMF is usually required for the older motors. First off, remove the capacitors on the motor. Try the loco again. I believe the Bachmann decoder is really ESU so based on those instructions, reduce the values of CV 54 in increments of 5 initially. Reduce CV 55 if you don't get much joy. The manual should provide some guidance as to what you need to do. Repeat until the loco behaves itself.

John

• RMweb Premium

Thanks chaps I will give the settings a go when I climb back into the attic tomorrow. Of course having the decoder plug in the tender I forgot about the capacitors.