N Gauge - Train Length & Configuration

Hi all,

I'm currenlty loking at the Graham Farish Tornado Class A1 as a late Christmas present to myself but as I'm a newbie I'm also looking for advice on the correct(ish) number of carriages to run and I'm also at loss to what carriage to use (and what they are)

I've always like Chocolate and Cream so looking at the following;

374-014A Graham Farish BR MK1 SO Second Open Coach BR Chocolate & Cream (WR)

374-064A Graham Farish BR MK1 SK Corridor Second Coach BR Chocolate & Cream (WR)

374-189 Graham Farish BR MK1 BSK Coach BR Chocolate & Cream (WR)

374-189A Graham Farish BR MK1 BSK Coach BR Chocolate & Cream (WR)

374-256 Graham Farish BR MK1 CK Composite Corridor Coach BR Chocolate & Cream (WR)

374-256A Graham Farish BR MK1 CK Composite Corridor Coach BR Chocolate & Cream (WR)

I'm planing on a layout in a room 11'sq (loft layout going round the edges) so I'm hoping for a realistic rake of carriages.

But saying that has anybody got an idea how long the above train is and a average length of a carriage so that I can plan a long enough siding and station, as I'm not very mobile at the moment.

Cheers.

Michael

• RMweb Premium

When planning for coach lengths I always work to a rough guide of 6 inches per coach / loco. This gives you plenty of room even when working with MK3's

The most imoprtant thing to remember is that it is your layout and you can run what you like. Having said that a lot of people prefer to run accurate (or at least approximate) formations.

Those Mk1 Chocolate and cream coaches date from the late 50s - early 60s and were painted for the named expresses on the Western region. Tornado is a modern build of a design built for the LNER (later Eastern region). If you want to be accurate to the prototype then these do not go together either geographically or historically.