Judith Edge, Barclay 0-4-0 DM Shunter in 3mm

Cathkin Park

As the title heading suggests, I plan to have a go at building this 3mm scale version kit, over the coming weeks.

Designed by Michael Edge and available direct from Judith Edge Kits or Finney & Smith, The Barclay 0-4-0 diesel mechanical shunter, better known to many as a BR class 06 shunter, was first introduced in 1958 for the Scottish region and lasted in revenue service with British Rail until 1981. 06003 was renumbered 97803 and transferred to the Western region being used in departmental use at Reading.

Although I'm more used to working in other scales, I have been collecting 3mm items for a few years, but have never got any further than making the 3mm society wagon kits. So knowing I have built this kit in 4mm before, I thought it would be a good opportunity to start here with something I new as my first 3mm kit,

The kit includes:

Three sheets of etched parts, which i presume are scaled down from the 4mm version.

A bag of resin casting.

Some brass wire.

A bag of other parts, including wheel bearings, nuts & bolts and brass horns.

Also a jackshaft axle which is for 12mm gauge, but for those modelling in 14.2mm, a replacement is available from Judith Edge by return post.

and finally what I find, an easy to follow five page set of instructions including some GA drawings.

Other items required not supplied in the kit are, buffers, wheels, motor, gearbox and the usual paint, transfers and tools to do the job.