Ultramarine Works

MarcD

A few years ago I thought it would be good idea to use the 6ftx2ft space allocated to me at GOG shows, for our our stand and turn it into a micro layout. I got so far down the track of building the layout and as I didn't have time to finish it I did't. I've now been invited to two exhibitions later this year I now need to finsh it.

I have got most of the track down and the factory board is under construction and most of the stock's finished.

The track work is peco and has been ballested with 00 ash. post-13539-0-49431900-1328995542_thumb.jpg

post-13539-0-65324400-1328995188_thumb.jpgpost-13539-0-01965800-1328995278_thumb.jpgpost-13539-0-45603100-1328995410_thumb.jpg

I have added some photos of progress so far. I've never done scenery before so any tips on the how to add realistic scenery would be most helpful.

• RMweb Gold

The only real way to learn is to have a go what sort of thing are you looking for. Built up with walls and buldings or grass banks hedges etc. Try to get want you want in your mind first.

Don

I am not an expert on scenery so I cannot help you there but I have to say that this could turn out to be a very nice little layout so I am looking forward to seeing more.

Looking at your name, can I assume that the wagons in the photo are from the Furness Railway Wagon Company range? I don't recall having seen any reference to these wagons on this forum so if they are, could you tell us something about them.

Willy

Guest Jim Read

Hello FW,

This may be of help I'm not sure, I was going to make a 4mm micro layout and got as far as point and track making and making some building using the Scalescenes freebies, I did buy some more kits but never made them up.

I decided to give my current layout away, after the Ilkeston show and scrap the 4mm idea and use the board for an 0 Gauge micro.